2007 Ajmer blast: Swamy Aseemanand and others acquitted, 3 convicted, by NIA court

Mar 8, 2017
As many as 13 people had been charges for the blast in Ajmer in 2007.The blast was allegedly caused to stir communal disharmony, riots, and disturbances in the country.The NIA took over the investigation from the Rajasthan ATS on April 1, 2011.

Yasin Bhatkal, four others convicted in 2013 Hyderabad blast caseYasin Bhatkal, four others con...
NEW DELHI: Aseemanand and six other people accused in the 2007 Ajmer Dargah blast were acquitted, while three others were convicted, by a special National Investigation Agency (NIA) court in Jaipur today.
Aseemanand - who goes by the name Swami Aseemanand - was accused of masterminding the blast. Those convicted today are Sunil Joshi (who has since died), Devendra Gupta and Bhavesh Patel. A total of 13 people were accused in the case. Three are still on the run.
On October 11, 2007, at about 6.14 pm during Roza Iftaar, a powerful bomb went off in the compound of dargah Sharif, Ajmer, which killed three persons and wounded 15.
According to the chargesheet, a section of radicalised Hindus associated with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh conducted the blasts at Ajmer dargah and Mecca Masjid in Hyderabad in retaliation for the 2002 attack on the Amarnath Yatra and the Raghunath temple in Jammu, allegedly by Muslim terror outfits.
The blast was caused allegedly to stir communal disharmony, insult the religious feelings and incite riots during the month of Ramzan.